COVID-19 | GRADUAL REOPENING • DETAILS HERE

GRADUAL REOPENING OF NATURAL SITES IN CHÂTEAUGUAY

Veuillez prendre note que dès le 18 juillet, les personners qui entreront dans les bâtiments de l’île Saint-Bernard devront porter le masque.

Héritage Saint-Bernard and the city of Châteauguay are happy to announce the gradual reopening of Île Saint-Bernard and the centre écologique Fernand-Seguin in Châteauguay. Starting on June 3, walking trails will therefore be accessible, both at the centre écologique Fernand-Seguin and at Île Saint-Bernard (the tertre (knoll) and the Marguerite-D’Youville wildlife sanctuary). Other services and activities have been postponed until further notice.

On Île Saint-Bernard, the Pavillon de l’île is open to provide access to the wildlife sanctuary and bathrooms (only a limited number of people will be allowed at one time).

At centre écologique Fernand-Seguin, the reception building is closed until further notice to limit gatherings of people. A chemical toilet will be at the disposal of visitors outdoors.

However, considering the pandemic, sites will be reopened gradually to ensure the safety of visitors and staff. Limited access to the parking lots will enable us to control the number of people entering the sites. Hygiene and physical distancing measures have been implemented to prevent the virus from spreading. 

Visitors must respect the new rules at all times. If the rules are not respected, staff are authorized to intervene to enforce them. If the offender does not cooperate, this person will be asked to leave the premises. If necessary, staff will contact the local authorities to report the situation and follow their recommendations or ask them to intervene.

We recommend that everybody wear a mask. We also ask that people have their own alcohol-based hand sanitizer and water bottles since drinking fountains will not be available.

MEASURES DURING THE PANDEMIC

  • ÎLE SAINT-BERNARD (REFUGE FAUNIQUE)
  • CENTRE ÉCOLOGIQUE FERNAND-SEGUIN
  • The parking is open at 100% 
  • On the island’s tertre (knoll), access to the mill, stairs and the cave is not allowed.
  • Picnics on blankets are allowed and furniture is available to visitors.
  • The boat ramp for non-motorized watercraft is no longer available on Île Saint-Bernard. Instead, boaters can use the city of Châteauguay boat ramps found at the nautical centre, on Higgins road, and on Salaberry Nord boulevard (La Sauvagine bridge).
  • A limited number of people will be allowed at the same time inside the Pavillon de l’île, to gain access to the Marguerite-D’Youville wildlife sanctuary and bathrooms.
  • The Pavillon de l'île is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • The Café de l'île will be open on june 22nd for take-out. The online order will remain available from Tuesday to Friday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m https://order.chkplzapp.com/cafe-de-lile/menus.
  • Rates are in effect for trail access at the Marguerite D’Youville wildlife sanctuary. Contactless card payments are recommended.
  • Sites are patrolled continuously to ensure all visitors respect rules.
  • People with an annual pass for the Marguerite-D’Youville wildlife sanctuary will see this pass extended for at least three months (to compensate for confinement time and restricted access measures).
  • Changes have been made to some trail sections. One-ways were created to help physical distancing and narrow areas and play modules have been closed. Users will be informed of changes once they get to the site and must respect the new indications.
  • The Manoir D’Youville (hotel) and the Bistro La Traite will gradually restart their activities. For further information : manoirdyouville.ca / 450 692-8291.
  • Wearing a mask is recommended. Visitors are also asked to have their own alcohol-based hand sanitizer and water bottles since drinking fountains are not available.
  • The centre écologique reception building is closed until further notice to prevent gatherings.
  • Trails are open free of charge as usual.
  • A chemical toilet is at the disposal of visitors outdoors.
  • Changes have been made to some trail sections. One-ways were created to help physical distancing and narrow areas have been closed. Users will be informed of changes once they get to the site and must respect the new indications.

HIKERS' CODE OF CONDUCT

HYGIENE MEASURES

It is recommended to wear a face covering and carry your own hydro-alcoholic hand gel.

OTHER PEOPLE AND NATURE

Even in times of a pandemic, going off-trail is strictly prohibited.

SINGS AND NOTICES

Do not enter closed-off areas and follow one-way signs.

DISTANCING MEASURES

In narrow spaces, turn your back to the other users you pass and look at nature.

HYGIENE MEASURES

You must be aware of the following essential elements and measures when visiting Île Saint-Bernard or the centre écologique Fernand-Seguin.

Le port du masque est obligatoire et il est recommandé d'avoir votre propre gel hydroalcoolique.

Wash your hands often, cough and sneeze into your elbow, avoid touching your face. Avoid touching furniture and infrastructure; if necessary, disinfect your hands.

Q&A

Our team takes the health of visitors and staff very seriously so as to limit any potential virus spread. Our hygiene, cleaning and disinfection measures follow the recommendations of the Québec national public health institute. Spaces were reconfigured, outdoor furniture was removed, narrow and small areas were closed and access to the site is limited to respect physical distancing. We will ensure that visitors and staff respect hygiene measures and respiratory etiquette. We have also increased the cleaning and disinfection frequency of indoor spaces.

At the CENTRE ÉCOLOGIQUE FERNAND-SEGUIN, the reception building is closed to prevent people from gathering in groups. Changes have been made to walking trails to ensure physical distancing is respected. Rules are in place to ensure hygiene measures are respected. Educational and family activities have been postponed until further notice.

On ÎLE SAINT-BERNARD, a limited number of people will also be allowed to enter the Pavillon de l’île at once, to gain access to the Marguerite-D’Youville wildlife sanctuary and bathrooms. Educational and family activities have been postponed until further notice.

In the coming weeks, the team may ease measures, depending on the public’s participation and respect for rules. All this will take place in a way that complies with recommendations of public health officials.

At the CENTRE ÉCOLOGIQUE FERNAND-SEGUIN, the reception building is closed to the public. However, a chemical toilet is available outdoors for visitors and disinfectants are supplied for cleaning the toilet after use.

On ÎLE SAINT-BERNARD, the Pavillon de l’île is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. A limited number of people will be allowed to enter. Bathrooms are available during opening hours. Chemical toilet are also available outdoors and disinfectants are supplied for cleaning the toilet after use.

The municipal park of Île Saint-Bernard, also call the tertre (knoll), is now open to the public. However, to respect distancing measures and prevent gatherings, some measures were taken: the mill is closed along with access to the stairs and the grotto. It is possible to walk in the orchard unless signs say otherwise (e.g. during spraying periods).

We have had to cancel several activities to allow access to our natural sites and the reopening of walking trails. As, viewpoints and the garden are not accessible at the moment. Trails have been organized to respect the two-metre distance as much as possible. Group activities, day camps and pontoon rides have also been cancelled. The Café de l’île offers take-out meals or picnic.

Since access to the parking lot at Île Saint-Bernard is limited, we have reserved the parking spaces for visitors to Île Saint-Bernard only (hikers, clients, etc.). People who meet at the island to go for a bike ride in the area or to run in a group are asked to park somewhere else. This measure was already in place before the pandemic and will remain so after.

The ramp for non-motorized watercraft is no longer available on Île Saint-Bernard. Boaters can use the city of Châteauguay boat ramps found at the nautical centre, on Higgins road and on Salaberry Nord boulevard (La Sauvagine bridge).

People with an annual pass for the Marguerite-D’Youville wildlife sanctuary will see this pass extended for at least three months (to compensate for confinement time and restricted access measures).

It is not possible to "book" your hike on Saint Bernard Island. 

For the best chance of accessing the island, people are encouraged to use active transportation (biking, walking), if possible. 

Wearing a mask is recommended for everyone. Visitors are also asked to have their own alcohol-based hand sanitizer and water bottles since drinking fountains are not available. Masks and hand sanitizer are sold at the counter where you pay to enter at the Pavillon de l’île.

It is possible to bring a blanket to sit on to have picnic with members of your own family unit or use the outdoor furniture. Considering the exeptional measure implemented to prevent gatherings and maintain distancing, we ask that you plan shorts visits to Île Saint-Bernard so other visitors can take their turn and enjoying nature.

We will ensure that measures implemented are respected. If you see that this is not the case, please mention it to a staff member. We have received clear instructions and our protocols allow us to act quickly.

For reasons of privacy, we cannot divulge this information. However, rest assured that all measures will be taken to ensure the regular cleaning and disinfection of spaces. Furthermore, these measures are in place at all times to keep everyone safe.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our team : info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

NOUS JOINDRE

Île Saint-Bernard

480, boulevard D’Youville
Châteauguay (Québec)  J6J 5T9

Phone number : 450 698-3133
Email : info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

All rights reserved to Héritage Saint-Bernard

Home

Français

EN
FR_CA EN

COVID-19 | RÉOUVERTURE PROGRESSIVE • DÉTAILS ICI

RÉOUVERTURE PROGRESSIVE
DES MILIEUX NATURELS À CHÂTEAUGUAY

Veuillez prendre note que dès le 18 juillet, les personners qui entreront dans les bâtiments de l’île Saint-Bernard devront porter le masque.

Héritage Saint-Bernard et la Ville de Châteauguay sont heureux d’annoncer la réouverture progressive de l’île Saint-Bernard et du centre écologique Fernand-Seguin à Châteauguay. Dès le 3 juin, les sentiers de randonnée sont donc accessibles, tant au centre écologique Fernand-Seguin que sur l’île Saint-Bernard (tertre de l’île et refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville). Les autres services et activités ont été suspendus jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Sur l’île Saint-Bernard,  le Pavillon de l’île est ouvert pour accéder au refuge faunique et pour les toilettes (accès à un nombre de personnes limité à la fois).

Au centre écologique Fernand-Seguin, le chalet d’accueil est fermé jusqu’à nouvel ordre pour limiter les rassemblements. Une toilette extérieure est à la disposition des visiteurs.

Toutefois, en contexte de pandémie, la réouverture des sites se fera de manière graduelle afin d’assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et des employés. Des mesures d’hygiène et de distanciation ont été mises en place pour éviter la propagation du virus. 

En tout temps, les visiteurs devront respecter les règlements mis en place. En cas de manquement, les employés sont autorisés à intervenir pour faire respecter les mesures de prévention. Si le contrevenant ne coopère pas, il lui sera demandé de quitter les lieux. Si nécessaire, les employés communiqueront avec les autorités locales pour dénoncer la situation et suivre leurs recommandations, ou venir collaborer dans l’intervention.

Le port du masque est recommandé pour tous. Les gens sont également invités à avoir leur propre gel hydroalcoolique et leur bouteille d’eau, puisque les fontaines d’eau ne sont pas accessibles.

MESURES EN TEMPS DE PANDÉMIE

  • ÎLE SAINT-BERNARD (REFUGE FAUNIQUE)
  • CENTRE ÉCOLOGIQUE FERNAND-SEGUIN
  • Le stationnement est ouvert à 100% 
  • Sur le tertre de l’île, les accès au moulin, à l’escalier et à la grotte ne sont pas permis.
  • Les pique-niques sur couverture et nappe sont permis et du mobilier est à la disposition des visiteurs.
  • La descente pour embarcation non motorisée n'est plus accessible sur l’île Saint-Bernard. Les plaisanciers sont invités à emprunter les rampes de mise à l’eau de la Ville de Châteauguay : au centre nautique, sur la rue Higgins et sur le boulevard Salaberry Nord (pont de la Sauvagine).
  • Un nombre restreint de personnes est admis en même temps à l’intérieur du Pavillon de l’île, pour accéder au refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville et aux toilettes.
  • Le Pavillon de l'île est ouvert de 9h à 17h.
  • Le Café de l’île ouvrira ses portes le 22 juin pour les commandes à emporter. La commande en ligne restera disponible du mardi au vendredi de 10h à 17h : https://order.chkplzapp.com/cafe-de-lile/menus.
  • Une tarification est en vigueur pour accéder aux sentiers du refuge faunique Marguerite D’Youville. Paiement par carte sans contact privilégié.
  • Le territoire est patrouillé en permanence pour s’assurer du respect des consignes par l’ensemble des visiteurs.
  • Les gens qui possèdent une carte d’accès annuelle pour le refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville verront leur échéance prolongée d’au moins trois mois (pour la durée du confinement et des mesures de restriction d’accès).
  • Des modifications ont été apportées à certaines sections de sentiers. Des sens uniques ont été créés pour favoriser la distanciation, des infrastructures exigües ont été fermées ainsi que les modules de jeux. Les usagers seront informés des changements une fois sur place et devront respecter ces nouvelles indications.
  • Le Manoir D’Youville (hôtel) et le Bistro La Traite reprennent leurs activités graduellement. Pour toute information : manoirdyouville.ca / 450 692-8291.
  • Le port du masque est recommandé. Les visiteurs sont aussi invités à avoir leur propre gel hydroalcoolique et leur bouteille d’eau, puisque les fontaines d’eau ne sont pas accessibles.
  • Le chalet du centre écologique est fermé jusqu’à nouvel ordre pour éviter les rassemblements.
  • Les sentiers sont accessibles gratuitement comme à l’habitude.
  • Une toilette extérieure est à la disposition des visiteurs.
  • Des modifications ont été apportées à certaines sections de sentiers. Des sens uniques ont été créés pour favoriser la distanciation et des infrastructures exigües ont été fermées. Les usagers seront informés des changements une fois sur place et devront respecter ces nouvelles indications.

CODE DE CONDUITE

LES MESURES D'HYGIÈNE

Il est recommandé de porter un masque et de traîner votre propre gel hydroalcoolique.​

LES AUTRES ET LA NATURE

Même en temps de pandémie, le hors sentier demeure strictement interdit.

LA SIGNALISATION ET L'AFFICHAGE​

Respectez les secteurs fermés et les sens uniques.​

LES MESURES DE DISTANCIATION

Dans les espaces plus exigus, tournez dos aux autres usagers lors d’un croisement et faites face à la nature.

MESURES D'HYGIÈNE

Voici les éléments essentiels à connaître et les mesures à appliquer lors d’une visite sur l’île Saint-Bernard ou au centre écologique Fernand-Seguin.

Le port du masque est obligatoire et il est recommandé d'avoir votre propre gel hydroalcoolique.

Lavez vos mains fréquemment, toussez et éternuez dans votre coude, évitez de vous toucher le visage. Évitez de toucher au mobilier et infrastructures; si c'est nécessaire, désinfectez vos mains.

CARTE DES SENTIERS

SENTIERS

FOIRES AUX QUESTIONS

Notre équipe prend la situation au sérieux pour protéger la santé des visiteurs et des employés et ainsi éviter les risques de propagation du virus. Les mesures d’hygiène, de nettoyage et de désinfection respectent les recommandations de l’Institut national de la santé publique. Les espaces ont été réaménagés, le mobilier extérieur a été retiré, des secteurs trop exigus ont été fermés et l’accès au site a été restreint afin de respecter la distanciation. Nous nous assurons que les clients et les employés respectent les mesures d’hygiène et l’étiquette respiratoire. Nous avons aussi augmenté la fréquence du nettoyage et de la désinfection des espaces intérieurs.

Au CENTRE ÉCOLOGIQUE FERNAND-SEGUIN, le chalet d’accueil est fermé pour éviter les rassemblements. Des modifications ont été apportées aux sentiers de randonnée pour assurer le respect de la distanciation sociale. Une réglementation est en place pour s’assurer du respect des mesures d’hygiène. Les activités éducatives et familiales sont suspendues jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Sur L’ÎLE SAINT-BERNARD, un nombre restreint de personnes est admis en même temps à l’intérieur du Pavillon de l’île, pour accéder au refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville et aux toilettes. Les activités éducatives et familiales sont suspendues jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Au fil des semaines, l’équipe pourra procéder à un assouplissement des mesures, en fonction de la participation du public et du respect des consignes. Le tout sera fait de manière conforme aux recommandations de la Santé publique.

Au CENTRE ÉCOLOGIQUE FERNAND-SEGUIN, le chalet d’accueil est fermé au public. Une toilette chimique est mise à disposition les clients à l’extérieur et des produits désinfectants se trouvent à l’intérieur de la toilette pour un nettoyage après usage.

Sur L’ÎLE SAINT-BERNARD, le Pavillon de l’île est ouvert de 9h à 17h. Un nombre limité de personne est admis à l’intérieur. Les toilettes sont accessibles durant les heures d’ouverture. Des toilettes chimiques sont aussi mises à disposition les clients à l’extérieur et des produits désinfectants se trouvent à l’intérieur de la toilette pour un nettoyage après usage.

Le parc municipal de l’île Saint-Bernard, aussi nommé le tertre de l’île, est à nouveau accessible au public. Toutefois, pour respecter les mesures de distanciation et éviter les rassemblements, certaines mesures ont été prises : le moulin est fermé, ainsi que l’accès à l’escalier et à la grotte. Il est possible de se promener dans le verger, à moins que de l’affichage indique le contraire (lors des périodes d’arrosage).

Plusieurs activités ont dû être annulées afin de permettre l’accès aux sites naturels et la réouverture des sentiers de randonnée. Ainsi, les belvédères et le jardin ne sont pas accessibles. Les sentiers ont été réaménagés afin de respecter le plus possible le 2 mètres de distanciation. Les activités de groupes, les camps de jour et le ponton ont aussi été annulés. Le Café de l’île offre des repas pour emporter ou pour pique-niquer à l’extérieur.

Le stationnement de l’île Saint-Bernard étant restreint, nous réservons les espaces aux visiteurs de l’île Saint-Bernard uniquement (randonneurs, clients, etc.). Les gens qui se rassemblent à l’île pour faire une randonnée à vélo dans la région ou une course à pied en groupe seront invités à se stationner à un autre endroit. Cette mesure était déjà en vigueur avant la pandémie et demeurera effective après.

La descente pour embarcation nautique non motorisée n’est plus accessible sur l’île Saint-Bernard. Les plaisanciers sont invités à emprunter les rampes de mise à l’eau de la Ville de Châteauguay : au centre nautique, sur la rue Higgins et sur le boulevard Salaberry Nord (pont de la Sauvagine).

Les gens qui possèdent une carte d’accès annuelle pour le refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville verront leur échéance prolongée d’au moins trois mois (pour la durée du confinement et des mesures de restriction d’accès).

Il n’est pas possible de « réserver » sa randonnée à l’île Saint-Bernard. 

Pour de meilleures chances d’accéder à l’île, les gens sont invités à utiliser un transport actif (vélo, marche), si possible. 

Le port du masque est recommandé pour tous. Les gens sont également invités à avoir leur propre gel hydroalcoolique et leur bouteille d’eau, puisque les fontaines d’eau ne sont pas accessibles. Des masques et bouteilles de gel désinfectant sont en vente au comptoir de tarification, au Pavillon de l’île.

Il est possible d’apporter une couverture pour pique-niquer avec les membres de votre propre unité familiale, ou d’utiliser le mobilier extérieur. Compte tenu des mesures exceptionnelles mises en place pour éviter les rassemblements et maintenir la distanciation, il est demandé de prévoir de courtes visites sur l’île Saint-Bernard afin de permettre aux autres usagers de profiter à leur tour de la nature.

Nous nous assurons que les mesures mises en place sont respectées. Si vous constatez que ce n’est pas le cas, nous vous invitons à le mentionner à un membre du personnel. Nous avons reçu des consignes claires et nos protocoles nous permettent d’agir rapidement.

Pour des questions de protection de renseignements confidentiels, nous ne pouvons donner cette information. Par contre, toutes les mesures sont prises pour assurer le nettoyage et l’assainissement des espaces sur une base régulière et que ces mesures sont en place en tout temps pour assurer la sécurité de tous.

En cas de questionnement, vous pouvez vous adresser à notre équipe : info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

NOUS JOINDRE

Île Saint-Bernard

480, boulevard D’Youville
Châteauguay (Québec)  J6J 5T9

Téléphone : 450 698-3133
Courriel : info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

© 2019 Tous les droits réservés à Héritage Saint-Bernard

Accueil /

English

FR_CA
EN FR_CA